A Lifesaver at your Own Backyard

Due to adverse PMS symptoms, particularly a minor case of low blood pressure, I made ample research on how I can eradicate through nature-inspired way such unpleasant signs I was having.

My online journey led me to a tree of holistic value – the Horseradish or “Moringa” tree, or best-known as “Malunggay” here at our very own PH. Yes indeed, we’re very lucky that this multi-talented leafy-friend is native to our country as it is in many parts of Asia and Africa. In fact, according to some studies such as that of webmd.com on Moringa, all its parts (i.e. leaves, bark, flowers, fruit, seeds, and root) can be used as alternative medicine to help deal with a rather long list of health conditions, I presume including that of PMS.

During a 3-day intake of my homemade Honey-Moringa Smoothies I made sure to take note of any improvement and/or adverse effects that may transpire (take note that I took this during an uninvited PMS season). To my delight, I have observed none but positive results:

  1. Symptoms of low blood pressure are alleviated.  Mainly the headache was a problem; second was the slight pain/numbness of half my head down to my shoulders – all of which symptoms I most likely to experience whenever I have a low BP. Immediately after day 2, the said symptoms have already been alleviated and the headache was almost gone.

  2. Sleep is improved. For a regular coffee drinker like me, I’d say getting enough/good sleep has been a real struggle. However, other than the fact that I’ve had headaches during the time (let alone sleeplessness), I can say that I got to have enough sleep and rest at bedtime upon my intake of the Malunggay drink right after dinner.

  3. Promotes energy. Felt weak/feverish during the time, plus muscle pains made it worse (given the fact that we’ve been having extremely cold weather lately). Day two after intake, I felt a lot active as if the body’s been recharged, plus, muscle pains (esp. lower back) were alleviated. Modern studies found out that Moringa has tons and loads of vitamins and minerals, which can help strengthen our immune system.

  4. Promotes good skin. I know my skin more than anyone and more often I’m quite pale (sorta grayish tone). I was sure that the Moringa gave me quite a nice glow, particularly in the face. I supposed this was because of a good blood circulation and detoxification that has been taking place. Plus, Moringa is said to have high antioxidant contents. Noticed my slight but noticeable results around Day-3.

These are few of the health benefits that I got during my 3-day intake of Malunggay drink and God knows what more there could be on a prolonged intake. By God’s grace, I was actually feeling a lot better at Day-2 already and I’d say it’s rather amusing that Malunggay is also called as a “Miracle Tree”.

I got this picture from Moringa on TreesForLife.org and its impressive nutritional facts:

 Moringa-diagram

Darn impressive, right? What’s more is that, according to the same site, it can actually prevent a number of 300 diseasesgood news to MEN as well, I presume, Malunggay is not only good for women in need of generating good breast milk and relieving PMS then. We’re talking about the prevention of more than 300 diseases here people! I got some ample info on some Health benefits from Malunggay at ACES1.net, wherein they mentioned a long list of diseases and how Moringa can fight and prevent such – including dreadful degenerative diseases such as diabetes and even cancer. God bless this miracle tree. 🙂

In our place where we live, a great number of Malunggay trees grow just about wildly, you can even find them at almost every house’s backyards, which makes it a rather cheap knight in greenish armor to health’s rescue, don’t you think?  I can say this tree here is a rescuer at arm’s reach.

However, I’m fully aware that not everyone gets to like its flavor, esp. when you’re not used to eating green leafies. Not to worry, today they already have the kind in capsules, pure organic. Some get to dry the leaves and transform it into powder form and one through oil extraction – Malunggay oil extracted from its leaves (and then possibly some procedure whatnots to ensure its quality). So, basically it’s what they put inside the capsule considering specific milligrams.

Through Google, I searched for the “best malunggay capsule brand” and this brand here came in first – Moringana (Facebook Page and Official Website), which I deemed was a fine example of Malunggay powder-filled capsule. This one here is a pride and product of our very own country.

omni_4inside

Photo courtesy of Moringana Official Website

 

Further studies have shown that dried Malunggay leaves are actually 10x more potent than that of fresh ones.

moringa nutritional

Photo source: ACES1 on Malunggay (click on link to see their full Moringa Nutrition Analysis)

then, I googled for the “best malunggay Oil capsule” and came in first was this brand, Malungai Life Oil (Facebook Page and Official Website), another excellent Moringa product exemplar which comes in a form of oil-filled soft gel capsules extracted from Malunggay leaves. According to Life Oil, “The Philippine-manufactured Life Oil is the only moringa oil product in the world.”

product

Photo courtesy of Malungai Life Oil Official Website

So if you don’t have Malunggay trees available in your neighborhood and/or your taste buds just cannot tolerate such leafy flavor, then these here are good options for you.

I plan on trying Malunggay capsules in the future. As for now, I’m enjoying Malunggay through gratis at hand’s reach which is just a few blocks planted away from home.

So, there! I’ll just leave you with a piece of advice; you might want to check your backyard and see if you got yourself a lifesaver planted. 😉

About bonzaimelo

Composer. Singer/Songwriter. Environmentalist by choice. Director by degree. Fitness buff. Organic enthusiast. Dedicated Mom and Wife. Family-inspired. Caffeine-fueled. Random being. Disciple of Christ.

Posted on February 4, 2014, in health, My Earthly Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a comment